Posted on

I Can’t Stand Up For Camden Town (The Everlasting Yeah)

After just a couple of gigs in the back rooms of pubs The Everlasting Yeah played their first proper London gig at the Roundhouse on Saturday night. The 4 members, Damian, Brendan, Ciaran & Raymond have been playing together for 20 years now. As 80% of That Petrol Emotion they had played some pretty big gigs. Their challenging, influential rock music gained critical praise & a discerning audience but greater commercial success came to contemporaries more interested in repeating the rock conventions than subverting them. So, these men know enough to know what’s what & what’s not. They would not be doing this if they did not believe that the noise they make together could stand a wider hearing. Here is the proof just how damn right they are about that .

Two guitars, a bass & drums…the foundations of our rock & roll. There’s a million bands using extra instrumentation & that’s OK but when  “it’s got a back beat you can’t lose it. Any old time you use it. It’s gotta be rock – roll music. If you wanna dance with me”. This is “Tell Me” by the Everlasting Yeah. It is solid, driving & dramatic. This is how our 4 instruments are used properly, you gotta use your head but you know that the heart is more important. I am reminded of the Flamin’ Groovies & that is never a bad thing. “Tell Me” can only be found on this Y-Tube clip so keep it where you can find it until the band get this tune recorded & you can own it for yourself.

“The Grind” was the final track of the set, almost 11 minutes long but doesn’t time fly when you are enjoying yourself. I am reluctant to use the word “motorik” because I have already dropped the Groovies in here. To invoke the German greats would really be blowing smoke up their backsides but it is Can & Neu ! that I’m hearing in this rigorous, relentless, gorgeous rhythm. Reluctant too because there is no pseudery about this music. The best I can say is “Turn This Shit Up…LOUD !”. It’s a long tune, go do some stuff, let it cheer the whole house, the whole bloody street.

I was not at the Roundhouse on Saturday, Life & a lightness of wallet (£100 on the train !) got in the way. The rave reviews of those who were there, people who had made great efforts to attend, who had been waiting a long time to see these guys play together again, were on the F-book yesterday & I knew I had missed something. Today we have these great clips, there are others on the Y-Tube & you know what to do. Any band, new or experienced will worry about how new material will be received. I listen to a lot of music. There are fine young bands like the Joy Formidable,& Parquet Courts who aspire to sound as good as this, who can learn from The Everlasting Yeah that letting it flow is better than trying too hard. This is some of the best music of 2013, ain’t that the truth.

So now…just how does this music find a wider audience because people are gonna like this if they hear it. Y’know that’s for later. Let’s enjoy these brilliant new songs from an impressive new band doing that thing they do on a Saturday night.

About loosehandlebars

Experience has taught me wisdom, thank god I've got some life left I'm getting out of serfdom, my soul has stand the test. I need nothing to be a man because I was born a man and i deserve the right to live like any other man.

10 responses to “I Can’t Stand Up For Camden Town (The Everlasting Yeah)

  1. Steve P ⋅

    Mal, Saturday night was majestic. Whilst these YouTube clips are a good reminder of a great night, what you do not get is the good vibe of the room that night. It made a change to be in a room where everybody was actually listening to the band, these days you seem to get people on the fringes chatting shit through a bands set. What you cannot quite see at the end of “The Grind” is Ray shaking his head and looking bewildered, I asked him why? He said they had made mistakes through out . You tell me if you can spot them? Both he and Ciaran looked done in at the end, he said it was due to the concentration that he and Ciaran have to put into the performance, well to my ears it certainly paid off. Ciaran has told me that there is better to come, that I do not doubt as I could tell how much effort has gone into the performance from last years Oxford show. Cannot wait for some studio recordings to come our way.

  2. Steve P ⋅

    Even though some of the songs tip the scales at ten minutes they somehow do not seem that long.

  3. Two things Steve…firstly you are biased & a good thing too. The Petrolheads around the F-Book certainly do seem to be the kind of people you would not mind being in the same room at the same time with.
    Secondly, we’re not really surprised just how good The Everlasting Yeah are. We know that Raymond was sweating a little. Would anyone come ? Was it any good ? The Time Out hubbub. I think that when you have operated at the level that the guys did when TPE were touring the world then it’s difficult to settle for less even if the gigs are smaller.
    I spent my afternoon listening to the tunes, time well spent &, as I wrote, “The Grind” does just fly by. It’s tough for any band to get a hearing nowadays but more gigs & recording these tracks has to be the way forward. I.t all sounds fresh & strong to us surely others will agree.
    Cheers

  4. Dr Whysleep ⋅

    I was there and they weraAWESOME. When are these guys going to record?

    • I’m pleased you enjoyed the gig Doc. It’s not the first time I have seen that question asked since Saturday. The tunes, particularly “Tell Me”, are causing a ruckus around my end. I can see TEY fans getting their own Kickstarter thing together to get the songs recorded. I’m sure that any news will be on the band’s F-Book page.
      Cheers.

  5. The energy… fantastic! I’m so happy you guys are back!!! And I’m looking forward to more,more,more!

    • Hi William, I’ve known these guys since they were in the Petrols & obviously would do what I can to help their new music get heard. There’s been nothing but smiles since I was able to post this because…well you can hear for yourself, this is the real deal !
      Cheers

      • I was a big fan too, and like you I’m all smiles. I’ve known Dee since The Undertones. And was there when John got The Petrols together all those years ago down in The Borough. So, we must have crossed paths in the past. Keep up the good work my friend and I’m looking forward to further updates.
        All the best.

  6. Pingback: You’re On Ten On Your Guitar. Where Can You Go From There? Where? | loosehandlebars

  7. Steve P ⋅

    Mal, I strongly suspect that young William Hassett is non other than Billy Hassett once of The Chords. Am I right William?

Leave a Reply

