Posted on

The Gatefolds Know The Score.

There are brand new to the Y-tube clips of our favoured psyche-garage noisy boys from Derry, the Gatefolds. From a “Rock For Pride” gig  just 4 days since “Numb on a Sunday” is another of the original 4 tracks that you can negotiate a price for on their website, It’s great to see the boys standing upright without support for such a long time & producing a lovely bit of jangle-pop. There is a version of “Shot in The Dark” from this set which operates from a long run up & gives the song a kicking, in a good way. The sound is just a little off but maybe next time. Check out all 4 tracks of the Gatefolds’ first effort. I am reliably informed that the band will be recording new material next month &, of course, we will be pleased to tell you about it but this shit is too good to give away for free.

A tip of my chapeau to Jim Cunningham, the documentarist of the Derry music scene. Without his sterling efforts & his constant hanging around the city’s bars I would have to take bassist Joe Brown’s word for just how good the Gatefolds are. I’ve done that before & it has bitten me in the arse let me tell you. Jim, good work fella !

Speaking of Joe Brown, he & I were trading our favourites of 2013 so far recently. He is a busy, cosmopolitan man & was packing for a jaunt to Paris, the City of Lurve, at the time. he didn’t get much further than this cracker.

This is “Gargantuan” by Our Krypton Son the first single from the debut LP. O.K.S. is Derryman Chris McConaghy who has made the scene in the City of Culture (well for 2013) for some years & is obviously ready to get out & about. “Gargantuan” is aptly titled as there is a  lovely sense of the epic about the song. I hear songs as good as this by bands who are doing very well for themselves thank you. Our Krypton Son are on a small label & unlikely to get the exposure they deserve. Play the clip again & spread the word.

Usually when guitarist Fergal Corscadden posts music onto my F-book page my laptop trembles. Fergal favours 10 minute wall of sound jams by psyche-power trios. It’s music best appreciated by heavy ingestion of downers so the brain is disengaged & just your rib-cage vibrates. I imagine that Fergal sees my melodic pop selections or the swinging soul & spits at his computer screen. This weekend he showed a more sensitive side to his musical palette.

More music from 2013, Lars & the Hands of Light are a Danish band, “How Much We Feel” is from the LP “Baby We Could Die Tomorrow” & is a classic cut of dreamy pop. Lars Vognstrup was involved with Junior Senior back in the early years of this century. J/S were so devoted to the pop that they made me laugh & tap my feet at the same time…I liked this. “How Much We Feel” is more emotional, the vocal is by Lars’ sister Line. It reminds me of Nina Persson of the Cardigans & I like to think about her. The whole thing just glistens…damn!

OK, here’s a lovely photo of our heroes. I hope they all know that if they want to throw any tunes the way of loosehandlebars then they will be gratefully received.

About loosehandlebars

Experience has taught me wisdom, thank god I've got some life left I'm getting out of serfdom, my soul has stand the test. I need nothing to be a man because I was born a man and i deserve the right to live like any other man.

Leave a Reply

