Posted on

Courtesy Of The BMX Bandits

Alex Chilton sings Carly Simon ! I know, I trawl the Y-tube so you don’t have to. The BMX Bandits & Teenage Fanclub both got to know & play with their powerpop idol in the 1990s. Alex asked Duglas T Stewart, the head Bandit, if he knew the song & promised to send him it on tape. Back home Alex could not find the record so got a couple of friends round and recorded his own version. So here it is.

Duglas T spent 3 years producing a tribute LP “Caroline Now. The Songs of Brian Wilson & the Beach Boys”. This is one of my favourite songs of the band (tho’ there is a long list). It is written by Dennis Wilson & first appeared on the “Holland” LP before Dennis recorded a solo version which was released on the whistles & bells, expanded edition of the extraordinary “Pacific Ocean Blue”. It is sung by Norman Blake off of the Teenage Fannies &, of course, the love & respect for the music shines brightly.

Blimey, I need to hear a bit more of that record. There’s a Kim Fowley track & one by the David Ritchie Coalition who, I think, is my new F-book friend…who knew ! (I have found this track, “Good Timin'” & it’s a belter). OK as 3 is the magic number I need another clip & as I have been looting the BMX Bandit’s stash for my own ends I must include one of the bands more recent appearances. This is “Disco Girl”.  I could add the obligatory should have beens and the injustice of overlooked talent but I only want to say that I enjoy the BMX Bandits, their music makes me feel good.

About loosehandlebars

Experience has taught me wisdom, thank god I've got some life left I'm getting out of serfdom, my soul has stand the test. I need nothing to be a man because I was born a man and i deserve the right to live like any other man.

Leave a Reply

