Posted on

I’ve Got A Bike, You Can Ride It If You Like

Has Lance Armstrong shown contrition for his cheating or is he a squirming, cheating, arrogant prick who will say anything to re-establish his public persona and avoid losing his money and his freedom ? The debasement of professional cycling, a sport in which the UK is enjoying unprecedented success, may be such that Armstrong was just a better cheat than his competitors. As a kid I accompanied my Dad to watch him compete in athletics meetings. Often these events included amateur cycling races. I enjoyed the sport, met some of the participants & appreciated their commitment to riding their bikes. Whatever the damage done to cycling by drug cheats there will always be people who will enjoy testing themselves honestly without the aid of artificial assistance, unsightly Lycra or ridiculous side-burns.

Here is a story of  such a band of brothers & sisters (The Medway Wheelers) told by the brilliant Wild Billy Childish & The Buff Medways. As an inspiraton for this blog wrote, “against that and on the other hand, a good bicycle is a great companion, there is a great charm about it”, (Flann O’Brien). Syd likes them too.

 

About loosehandlebars

Experience has taught me wisdom, thank god I've got some life left I'm getting out of serfdom, my soul has stand the test. I need nothing to be a man because I was born a man and i deserve the right to live like any other man.

Leave a Reply

