Posted on

Ten Great Movies From the 1970s.

When I started this blog I always intended to write about cinema. There are movies which have affected and influenced me as much as my favourite LPs. My first attempts are stuck in the draft stage or have been trashed. I don’t want to be a film critic, we have enough of those. I know that a degree of context is required but I want to transmit how movies can affect the viewer intellectually and emotionally. Sticking to the facts is proving to be too arid. I will stick at it until I get it right (or right enough).     

Here, in alphabetical order are 10 films from the 1970s which I consider to be the best from a Golden Age of film-making.I am aware that in all fields of the arts you can favour that which were revelatory to your younger self. I have seen all these movies countless times and continue to be enchanted by them.  Any of the directors of these films could have dominated my list. I have restricted my choice to the one I consider to be the greatest of their work in this decade.                                                                                                                                    

Aguirre, Wrath of God Poster   Aguirre, Wrath Of God             Amarcord      Amarcord Poster

Chinatown Poster    Chinatown                              The Godfather    The Godfather Poster

Nashville Poster Nashville One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest  One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest Poster

 Punishment Park Poster   Punishment Park                           Taxi DriverTaxi Driver Poster

                        That Obscure Object of Desire Poster  That Obscure Object of Desire  

The Man Who Fell to Earth Poster  The Man Who Fell To Earth   

Ok, there are 10 wonderful movies. They all deserve more than just being included in a list so that’s me for this week then. I do not have to justify my choice but do feel that I should write further about them to do them justice.

 

About loosehandlebars

Experience has taught me wisdom, thank god I've got some life left I'm getting out of serfdom, my soul has stand the test. I need nothing to be a man because I was born a man and i deserve the right to live like any other man.

Leave a Reply

